Skip to content


The Motor Accident Commission Act 1992, which MAC is governed by, establishes the Board of Directors as the governing body of MAC. The Board is also subject to direction by the Minister (the Treasurer).

The Motor Accident Commission Act 1992 establishes the Board of Directors as the governing body of MAC. The Board is also subject to direction by the Minister. The Act specifies the preparation of a Charter by the Treasurer in consultation with the Board. It details the nature and scope of MAC’s activities.

The Charter provides for the conduct of MAC’s residual CTP insurance business and fund management, the outsourcing of claims management, the provision of support for anti-fraud campaigns and clarifies MAC’s statutory responsibility to support road safety initiatives.

Under the Charter, MAC is required to contract out the management of claims to a manager (or managers) approved by the Minister. SGIC General Insurance Limited (SGIC) provided this service from 1995 to 30 June 2003, after which Allianz Australia Insurance Ltd became responsible.


Road safety partners

MAC partners with various organisations in its two key roles:

Manager of the CTP insurance scheme in South Australia

A passionate promoter of road safety.

MAC works closely with Allianz Australia, the organisation responsible for managing and processing CTP claims in South Australia.

Road Safety is a combined effort of different South Australian organisations. MAC's key partners in road safety include:

MAC also partners with a number of organisations that operate various road safety programs. For further information visit MAC's Partnership page.

Allianz Australia Insurance Limited

Until 30 June 2016 MAC is the CTP insurer in South Australia and Allianz Australia Insurance Limited is the claims manager. Allianz is responsible for processing claims and handling enquiries relating to CTP claims for accidents up to 30 June 2016.

Allianz can be contacted in person, by telephone or by mail. For more information visit Allianz CTP SA 

Street address: 89 Pirie Street, ADELAIDE SA 5000
Ph: 1300 618 389 (from anywhere in Australia for the price of a local call)
Fax: 1300 405 050. 
By mail: GPO Box 2198, ADELAIDE SA 5001

For queries relating to all other CTP claims, contact the approved insurer or the CTP Insurance Regulator or 1300 303 558.


MAC’s Board consists of

William M Griggs AM, ASM MB, BS, MBA, PGDipAvMed

Dr Griggs has extensive medical, retrieval and research experience with a particular focus on road safety. He has been a member of the Royal Australian Air Force Specialist Reserve since 1988; has received many Australian military awards, medals and commendations and has participated in numerous major retrieval events, both nationally and internationally. He has served for over 20 years on a number of medical boards and committees for the benefit of the community.

Director since 9 September 2010
Chair since 1 July 2015

Ruth A Korotcoff
BMgt, LLB (Hons)
Independent Non-executive Director

Ms Korotcoff has extensive experience in the insurance industry with specialist knowledge in personal injury.

She is currently a co-Director of her own consultancy, which provides specialised programs in OHS and injury management to SA and national employers.

Director since 9 July 2009

Special responsibilities:
Member of Risk Finance and Audit Committee

Adrian G Tisato
Independent Non-Executive Director

Mr Tisato is an experienced commercial lawyer and company director.

Throughout his career, Mr Tisato has been a director or board member in several private companies, statutory authorities and non-profit associations. His current Board roles include the South Australian Film Corporation and Independent Gambling Authority.

Director since June 2013

Special responsibilities:
Member of Risk Finance and Audit Committee

Julie Brennan
Independent Non-Executive Director

A Chartered Accountant, Ms Brennan has extensive experience working within accounting firms Ernst and Young, Deloitte and progressing to Partner level at Ferrier Hodgson, before transitioning to senior finance and management roles within the not for profit, banking and professional service sectors. Ms Brennan has also previously served on the boards of FundsSA, State Theatre Company of South Australia and the Australian Children’s Performing Arts Company.

Director since 1 July 2016

Special responsibilities:
Chair of Risk Finance and Audit Committee

Greg McCarthy
Independent Non-Executive Director

Mr McCarthy was the Chief Executive Officer, Return to Work SA from 2012 to December 2016

Originally from NSW Greg has served on numerous boards and advisory councils spanning the insurance and workers compensation sectors.

During his career Mr McCarthy chaired the NSW WorkCover Authority, the NSW OH&S and Workers Compensation Advisory Council, the Chairman of the NSW Home Warranty Insurance Scheme Board and the NSW Home Building Advisory Council.

Director since 1 July 2016

Sylvia Rapo
Independent Non-Executive Director

Ms Rapo is Manager, External Relations at Electranet.

With a strong background in media and a career as an adviser and executive manager working at senior levels of government, Ms Rapo is highly experienced in strategic communications with proven leadership skills.

Director since 1 July 2016

Trudy Minett
A/Chief Executive Officer
BBus, GradDipSysAnal, MBA

Mrs Minett is a business professional with significant experience in designing and delivering transformational change. She worked with the South Australian Government to design and implement the Return to Work scheme for work injury insurance. Trudy has worked on other major projects within work injury insurance – such as vocational rehabilitation, premium design and whole person impairment assessment – all focus on achieving behaviour change that prevented work injury or improved recovery and return to work for injured workers.

Join the conversation